Workspace settings

In this Article

When you sign up for Notion, you can create multiple workspaces connected to your account. Each one can be customized to your liking with workspace-specific settings. Here's how to manage every aspect of an individual workspace 🗝️


Note: Many of these settings are only visible if you're an admin on a Team Plan or Enterprise Plan. They don't appear in the mobile app at all. Contact sales to learn more about our Enterprise plan →

Access workspace settings

To see your workspace management options, go to Settings & Members at the top of the left sidebar. In the window that pops up, click on the Settings tab.

In this window, you can:

  • Change your workspace name: We recommend keeping it short and simple!

  • Change your workspace icon: Click on it to choose an emoji or upload your own image. Ideal dimensions are 280px by 280px.

Create a custom URL for your workspace

Create a short, custom, and memorable URL for your workspace. This makes it easy to brand your workspace to match your team or company, and share it with others!

  • Under Domain, fill in what you'd like to complete the URL: notion.so/domain

Change your workspace's custom URL

At any time, you'll be able to modify your workspace's custom URL.

  • Navigate to Settings & Members, then Settings.

  • Under Domain, replace the existing domain with your new intended workspace name:

  • By default, your workspace's public page URLs will be given a unique string as an identifier, such as  unique-string-100.notion.site.

  • Once you've set your own workspace domain, it will be displayed at the start of any public page URLs, such as acme.notion.site.

  • If you switch to a new custom domain, any existing links starting with the previous domain (previousdomain.notion.site) will no longer work! You'll need to re-share the new links.

Note: The unique acme.notion.site URL is only used for publicly shared pages within your workspace. Internally, you will still see the URL as notion.so/acme.

Allowed email domains

Make it simple for people with certain email address domains to automatically join your workspace as members. As soon as they sign up, Notion will recognize their email and ask if they want to join your workspace.

  • New allowed domains are restricted to the email domains of the members of that workspace. To add a domain that isn't available, someone with an email address from that domain will have to join the workspace.

  • Use this so all new employees who join your company can easily join your shared workspace. All they have to do is sign up for Notion with their work email.

  • Bear in mind that you'll be charged per member on Team and Enterprise Plans.

Note: This option is not available on the Personal Plan or Personal Pro Plan because multiple members are not allowed.

Workspace security & sharing options

Depending on how you're using your workspace, you may want to keep the data you have in it private or internal to just your team. If you have an Enterprise Plan, you can go to the Security & identity section to toggle on or off a number of options to restrict (or allow) sharing abilities.

Note: If you're interested in learning more about our Enterprise Plan, you can contact us by filling out this form. We will get back to you as soon as possible!

Here's a quick overview of these options. Note that they pertain to members in your workspace, not the admins who will be able to edit these settings. Learn more about members and membership settings here →

  • Prevent public sharing: Don't let members publish pages to the web.

  • Prevent members from changing the Workspace section: When enabled, this setting makes it so that only admins in the workspace are able to create, move, or re-order top-level pages in the Workspace section of the sidebar.

  • Disable guests: Don't let pages be shared with people who don't belong to your workspace.

  • Disable moving or duplicating pages: Don't let members move pages to other workspaces. Especially helpful if you have a lot of people and a lot of pages. It can get confusing fast, and some people may lose access when pages get moved.

  • Disable export: Don't let members export pages. This ensures that all your data stays in Notion rather than having different versions saved as Markdown or CSV.

  • Prevent members from installing new third party integrations: This prevents members from installing new integrations within the Settings & Members menu. Learn more about installing and managing integrations with the Notion API here →

Export an entire workspace

Want to pull your data off Notion and keep it on your hard drive? You can export a whole workspace at once as HTML, PDF (Enterprise only), or Markdown & CSV.

  • Click Export all workspace content.

  • We'll email you a link to download a zip file containing your exported pages. The link will expire after 7 days.

  • Open the zip, and you'll see all your Notion pages saved in the format you selected.

  • You can only export your entire workspace as PDF if you're on an Enterprise Plan.

Note: You will not be able to re-upload these files to Notion to instantly re-create your workspace.

Export workspace members

If you have an Enterprise Plan, you can click the Export members as CSV button to quickly get a list of everyone in your workspace.

The exported CSV will include:

  • Email

  • First name

  • Last name

  • Role (Admin, member, or guest)

  • A comma separated list of permission groups that each member is part of.

Note: If you're interested in learning more about our Enterprise Plan, you can contact us by filling out this form. We will get back to you as soon as possible!


FAQs

I'm on a Team Plan, but don't see any of these settings in Settings & Members?

Only admins can access these workspace settings. If you navigate to the Members tab, you'll see whether you're a guest, member, or admin in the workspace. Ask an admin in your workspace to upgrade your membership status if necessary.

I'm trying to add a new domain to the Allowed Email Domains setting, but it won't let me.

New allowed domains are restricted to the email domains of the members of that workspace. To add a domain that isn't available, someone with an email address from that domain will have to join the workspace.

I tried adding a guest to my workspace but they were turned into a member automatically. How can I prevent that?

You may have the Allowed Email Domains setting turned on. When enabled, this feature allows people with that email domain to join your workspace as a member automatically. You can disable this setting in the Settings tab of Settings & Members in the left sidebar.

Does Notion support custom domains?

You can customize part of your URL by following these instructions. For example, if your company is called Acme Inc., you could customize your URL to www.notion.so/acmeinc, but not www.acmeinc.com (quite yet, that is!).

How can I migrate all my Notion content to a different workspace?

To move your content from one workspace to another associated with the same account, click ••• next to each of the top-level pages in your sidebar (or right click) and select Move To. You'll see the option to move them to another workspace. When you move top-level pages, all their sub-pages go with them. They'll appear in the Private section but can be moved wherever you want to put them.

If you'd like to move content from one account to another, follow these steps:

  1. Log into the account that has the content you want to transfer.

  2. Consolidate all your pages under one top-level page in your sidebar.

  3. Share that page by clicking Share at the top right, hitting Invite a Person, and typing the email associated with your other account. Make sure Full Access is selected from the dropdown.

  4. Now, log into the account you just invited to share this content.

  5. Click on the name of your workspace at the top of your left-hand sidebar to open the workspace switcher. Go to the top-level page that you just shared.

  6. Inside that page, select all the sub-pages, click ⋮⋮ and Move To. Select the destination workspace, and your content will be there! ✨

What if I accidentally deleted something permanently? Any way to get it back?

If you accidentally delete a page, a workspace, or even your entire account, we can help! Accidents happen 😅 Just send us a message in the app by clicking ? at the bottom left on desktop (or in your sidebar on mobile). Or email us at team@makenotion.com.

We keep per-minute backups of our database, which allows us to restore a snapshot of your entire content at any minute in the past 30 days if you need it.

Still have more questions? Send us a message

Give Feedback

Was this resource helpful?


Up Next

Appearance settings

Looking to reduce eye fatigue? Want better contrast? Simply prefer an edgier look? Notion comes complete with dark mode 🌒