Duplicate, delete & restore content

In this Article

Any content you add to Notion can be duplicated or deleted with a couple clicks, whether that's an image, embed, page, or database. And if you ever get rid of content and need to get that work back — we got you covered on that too 🖇


Duplicate or delete blocks

Click ⋮⋮

This symbol, what we call the block handle, appears in the left margin when you hover over any line or content in Notion, whether that's an empty line, text, an image, an embed, row in a table, etc. Click it to see options to either Duplicate or Delete.

Click •••

When you hover over content like images, embeds, sub-pages, and web bookmarks, this symbol appears in the top right corner of the block to let you Delete or Duplicate.

  • On mobile, you'll see this symbol in the corner of many content blocks. Tapping it will open a menu that includes Delete and Duplicate.

    • For text on mobile, tap on More all the way to the right in the toolbar that appears above your keyboard. You'll see the same set of options.

Right click

You can right click on any content in Notion (or use the gesture that corresponds to right click on your track pad) to bring up a menu including Delete and Duplicate.

Keyboard shortcuts

  • To delete, select any content block or text and hit the delete key.

  • To duplicate, select any content block and hit cmd/ctrl + D. Or, hold option while clicking and dragging that content.

Version history

You can view and restore past versions of any Notion page going back 30 days if you're on a Personal or Team Plan (and indefinitely if you're on an Enterprise Plan). The Page history feature lets you see all changes made to a page, when and by who.

Access page history

  • Click the ••• menu at the top right of any Notion page. Choose Page history.

  • This opens the Page history window, which enables you to:

    • See all past versions of the current page in a list down the right-hand side. (Every change made to a page creates a separate version.)

    • Click on any past version to see what the page looked like at that point in time.

Note: A new version will be captured every ten minutes while you're making changes and two minutes after you stop.

  • You can also get to Page history by clicking Updates at the top right of any Notion page. You'll see a dropdown menu of all revisions made to the current page by yourself and others (as well as comments made and resolved). Click the clock icon next to any revision to jump to that version in the Page History window.

Restore past versions

  • To recover only specific content blocks from a previous version, click on that version, copy those blocks in the Page history window using cmd/ctrl + C and paste them into your current page with cmd/ctrl + V.

  • You can also restore an entire past version so it becomes your current version. Click the blue button that says Restore version.

  • Even if you or someone on your team restores a past version, you can always go back to the page as it was during any point in the past 30 days. Just open Page history again, choose the version you want to return to and restore it.

  • If you're on a Free Plan, you can upgrade to access Page history. Just go to Settings & Members, then Upgrade, and choose Personal or Team depending on your needs.

On mobile

Page history works a bit differently on mobile that it does on the web or desktop.

  • To access Page history, click the ••• icon at the top right of your page. Tap Page history. You'll see a full list of versions organized by time.

  • Tap any version to view it. You can copy and paste any content you want from it into your current version. Or you can tap Restore at the top left to make that version current.

Delete pages

There are many ways to delete pages in Notion. Here are all of them:

  • Hover over the page in your left sidebar, click the ••• icon that appears (or right click) and select Delete from the menu.

  • Go to the ••• icon at the very top right of a page and select Delete from the dropdown menu.

  • If you're deleting a sub-page off of an existing page, hover over it and click on the ⋮⋮ icon (or right click) to see the option to delete.

  • Drag any page or content block into the Trash at the bottom of your left sidebar.

  • You can always select any page block and press the backspace or delete keys.

Find pages in trash

You'll see Trash at the bottom of your left sidebar on both desktop and mobile. When you delete a page, this is where it ends up. Clicking on it opens a menu that puts deleted pages in two categories:

  • All pages: Every single page that has been deleted across your workspace.

  • In current page: A list of the sub-pages that used to live inside the page you're currently viewing before they were deleted.

    • In current page will also show you all the database items that were contained in deleted sub-pages, since each of them is their own Notion page. So let's say you deleted a spreadsheet of sales records, you'd see every record as an individual deleted page in trash.

  • Click the ••• icon at the upper right hand of any Notion page. You'll see an option to Show deleted pages, which will open the trash menu and default to the In current page section.

  • You can view the content of pages you've deleted by clicking on them in your trash. They'll appear with a red bar that gives you the option to restore or delete them permanently.

On both iOS and Android, Trash is located at the bottom of the left sidebar. Clicking on it opens the same menu and options in full-screen.


FAQs

I tried duplicating some blocks, but got a Please try again later error.

This error means that you've hit our duplication rate limit — right now you can only duplicate 20,000 blocks per hour. Our apologies for the incovenience!

If you wait a bit, you'll be able to duplicate the content then 👍

What if I accidentally deleted something permanently? Any way to get it back?

If you accidentally delete a page, a workspace, or even your entire account, we can help! Accidents happen 😅 Just send us a message in the app by clicking ? at the bottom left on desktop (or in your sidebar on mobile). Or email us at team@makenotion.com.

We keep per-minute backups of our database, which allows us to restore a snapshot of your entire content at any minute in the past 30 days if you need it.

How can I empty my trash?

There isn't a way to empty your trash all at once. It functions more like an archive where you can find and restore your deleted content. And you can always go into trash to delete pages permanently individually.

Can I use page history to restore a version that's over 30 days old?
Still have more questions? Send us a message

Give Feedback

Was this resource helpful?


Up Next

Customize & style your content

You can make Notion look and feel any way you want — like your brand, your team, your style. We've built in features so you can customize any page or workspace. No matter what, Notion makes your design look great 🎨