Collaborate with people

Collaborate with people - hero
In this Article

Notion has several features designed to improve and increase the velocity of communication with your team — whether you're all editing the same page or working across time zones 🤝


You can edit the same page at the same time with an unlimited number of people.

  • Their profile photos will show you where they're looking or working on the page.

  • Edits and comments made by everyone will appear to you instantly.

  • Click the 🕘 clock icon at the top right on the page to see who made what changes and when.

    • Content added is highlighted in blue.

    • Gray strikethrough shows what's been removed.

    • You can also see where people have left comments.

There are several ways to communicate with your teammates inside Notion — hopefully helping you cut down on meetings and status checks.

Mention a teammate

Want to get someone's attention on a page?

  • Mention them by typing @ followed by their name anywhere on a page.

  • You'll see a menu pop up that will search for the person in real time. Press enter.

  • They'll be notified of your mention with a link directly to it in Updates (or with a push notification if they are on the desktop or mobile app).

Leave a comment

Comments let you attach your thoughts, questions, or opinions to specific content on a page.

  • To leave a comment on a page, click the Add comment right above its title.

  • To leave a comment on text, highlight it, and click Comment in the menu that pops up.

  • To leave a comment on an image, embed, or other type of block, you can click the ••• that appears at the top right or the ⋮⋮ icon that appears to the left on hover. Choose Comment from the menu that pops up. (You can also right click to bring it up!)

  • You can @-mention your colleagues in comments to get their attention.

Notion is built for asynchronous communication. You'll be notified if someone needs you or if a page you care about has been changed.

  • Click on Updates at the top of your left sidebar. This is where we collect all notifications concerning you.

  • If you've been mentioned, you'll see a red badge with the number of mentions waiting for you next to Updates. This disappears when you click to view them.

  • Click Following to see a running list of changes that have been made on pages you follow — i.e. pages you've started, edited, or chose to follow.

  • Click Inbox to see a workspace-wide list of mentions for you. You'll see where and when they were made and by who.

  • Click on any of these updates to go directly to the comment, mention, or edit in question.


Give Feedback

Was this resource helpful?