What are workspaces?

Your workspace is your home in Linear and where all issues and interactions live. You'll be prompted to create or join a workspace when you create your account.

We recommend that companies stick to a single workspace as that's the conceptual model we use when designing the product. Within your workspace, you'll create teams to group people who work together, create issues in specific teams and use cycles and projects to define sets of work. When you create your workspace, we'll automatically create a default team with the same name.

How we use Linear We have a single workspace (Linear) and within that primarily work from a single team which is also called Linear with key LIN-123.

Manage your workspace

Add your logo and edit workspace-specific features in workspace settings (the keyboard shortcut is G then S). Admins will be able to edit the roadmap, add or remove members, import or export issues, change plans and view or update billing information.

Settings is where you'll configure workspace-specific integrations including GitHub and GitLab, Slack, Figma, and Sentry. These can be configured by anyone in your workspace as long as they have the requisite permissions from the integrated service (e.g. Slack requires workspace owners set up the workspace Slack integration). Anyone can add custom emoji or import your company's Slack emoji.

By default, your workspace will be on the free plan which means all members can access admin functionality including adding and removing members, exporting data and deleting teams and the workspace. Upgrade your workspace anytime under Plans to define admins and access additional features such as Google Sheets.

From Members you also can set up allowed email domains so that anyone with a company email can join your workspace automatically. Learn more in Adding and managing members.

Create, join or delete a workspace

Click on the workspace name in the sidebar (at the top left) and select Create or join a workspace. From here you can create a workspace, view outstanding invites and rejoin workspaces you voluntarily left. Suspended users will never have access to their old workspace unless the admin reactivates their account.

If you're joining an existing team, follow the invite link in your email or create a linear.app account using the invited email. You'll be prompted to join available workspaces during the onboarding flow.

You can delete workspaces under settings if you're an admin (or on the free plan). This is irreversible so do so with caution.

Manage multiple workspaces

You can create multiple workspaces in Linear under a single account (e.g. tied to a specific email). If you're using Linear for different purposes such as work and personal tasks, we recommend you create these workspaces under separate Linear accounts. Click on your workspace name and then select Add an account from the dropdown **if you'd like to switch between workspaces under different email accounts. You'll be able to switch between workspaces–even those under different email accounts–without having to log out of any of them.

Generally, we recommend companies work within a single workspace. Some companies choose to create multiple workspaces as a workaround for stricter permissioning.

Keyboard Shortcuts

G then S to open settings

Did we miss something? Have a question? Email us at hello@linear.app to let us know.