https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/secure.notion-static.com/8bf60c9c-9533-4e7b-b4ae-6449774d6a8e/C7099D9E-1E7F-44D8-9959-540BA6E96344_1_105_c.jpeg

Hey y'all. I'm Sherisa de Groot, creator of Mom's the Word. I am a writer, storyteller and community builder originally from Brooklyn now living in Amsterdam, NL for the past 10 years. I've been married for 10 years on 10/10 and I'm a mother of two. My son is 7.5 years old and my daughter is 3. Story is the absolute core of my life. I grew up in a multi-generational home and I credit my love for story to my grandma. It's how I've been able to make sense of the world. It's how we can look past the surface and get to the heart without much of an exchange. Sometimes our stories sit right there and we're not even aware.

After becoming a parent, parenting sort of became my "thing". I have known my general calling since childhood is to find a way to be of service to others, but when I started Raising Mothers it became very apparent that this is a big part of bringing life to that mission. RM has been going strong for 5 years now and I'm incredibly happy with its growth. I wanted to provide stories written by us, speaking to us. RM focuses on the parental journey as opposed to telling stories of the child and we specifically publish the work of parents of color at different marginal intersections. Beyond that, RM has also become a community and I see this as a natural extension of that.

Outside of Raising Mothers, I am a first generation American of Jamaican and British descent. The eldest of two. A recovering gifted and talented student that's constantly evolving and deeply introspective. I've been a vegetarian since 2005, only breaking once with my second pregnancy (my daughter apparently really wanted me to taste some chicken. I ate a wing and the craving thankfully ended.) and am raising two vegans with my vegan husband. My kids are multiracial and I devote a lot of time trying to diversify everything they consume. I'm a lover of books and own far too many (most are still at my mother's house in Brooklyn). Like my grandmother and mother before me, I have moved across the Atlantic (my grandma: JA to UK to JA to US, mother: UK to JA to US and me: US to EU). I've been a stay at home mom and work from home mom, reentering the workforce full-time last year at a parenting-focused startup. Now I'm working on some writing projects that I've wanted to dedicate time to for ages.

Every link you could possibly need for both myself and Raising Mothers is found here.